Stay - School of horseback archery

School of horseback archery
Equestrian Archery 

 This is a Mongolian traditional art that recently made its comeback to Mongolia. It dates back to the time when the Mongolian horsemen were fearsome warriors and ruled over the largest empire that has ever seen in the world. Genghis Khan in about 1200s was the first leader who united the tribes of the steppes to create the Mongol Empire, "Ikh Mongol". 

The equestrian archery joins two national disciplines: horse riding and archery. The combination of these two sports comes from ancient medieval Mongolian traditions. The symbolic of the bow and the horse all together, is strongly related to the warrior hordes of Genghis Khan. 

The goal is to shoot arrows in a fixed time, in movement, in one or more targets in a straight line or galloping through the fenced lane. The aesthetics of the movements and difficulties in balancing speed and accuracy make all the charm. Mongolian archery bow has two practices: on the ground and the other performed on horseback. 

There are equestrian archery competitions late June, which is a great show among the young sportsmen. Equestrian arc shooting is also featured in the valley of Khui Doloon Khudag where races of thousand horses are held during Naadam festivities, July 11-12. 
.. 

School of horseback archery
School of horseback archery

Séjour - Tir à l'arc équestre en mongolie

Tir à l'arc équestre

Tir à l’arc équestre 

C'est un art ancestral mongol qui revient en Mongolie récemment. Il remonte à l'époque où les cavaliers Mongols étaient des guerriers redoutables, et régnaient sur l'empire le plus vaste que n'ait jamais connu l'humanité. Gengis Khan, vers 1200s, fut le premier chef qui unifia les tribus des steppes pour former l’empire mongol, « Ikh Mongol ». 

L’archerie équestre est la réunion de deux disciplines sportives traditionnelles : l’équitation et le tir à l’arc. La combinaison de ces deux sports provient de traditions mongoles médiévales et plus anciennes. La symbolique de l’arc et du cheval conjuguée, est très fortement liée aux hordes des guerriers de Gengis Khan. 

L’objectif est de tirer dans un temps déterminé, des flèches en mouvement dans une ou plusieurs cibles en ligne droite ou sur un couloir encadré, pendant le grand galop. L’esthétisme du geste et la difficulté d’allier vitesse et précision en font tout le charme. Le tir à l’arc mongol a deux techniques : une au sol et l’autre pratiquée à cheval. 

Il y a des compétitions de tir à l’arc à cheval fin juin, un grand spectacle parmi les jeunes sportifs. Le tir à l’arc équestre est aussi présenté dans la grande vallée de Khui Doloon Khudag où les courses de milliers chevaux ont lieu chaque Naadam, le 11-12 juillet. 

Vidéos : Tir à l'arc en steppe mongole
Photos : Tir à l'arc équestre en Mongolie