Tours in Mongolia - Western Mongolia, Altai Mountains

Western Mongolia, Altai Mountains 
17 days / 16 nights in Mongolia

Discovery of the Mongolian Altai. The Altai Mountains are a huge mountain range in East-Central Asia, where Russia, China, Mongolia and Kazakhstan come together.  
Nature, the regions of Uvs, Bayan Ulgii and Khovd; the highest massif of Mongolia, the Altai Tavan Bogd, lakes of Achit Nuur, Khokh Nuur, Sogoog and Tolbo Nuur; the snow-capped mountain of Tsambagarav. 
Wild life: Altai Mountains still home rare animals such as argali sheep, snow leopard irbis, ibex yanggir. 
Meeting with Kazakh, Tuvan nomadic families, discovery of nomadic culture. 

--- Yurt, Tent, Hotel / Guide / Bus, a car  
 
Contact us and book your air tickets as early as possible  
Confirm your booking with a bank transfer.  
 
Note: our prices have been based on the existing data on the day of editing and publishing. Modifications (exchange rate modifications, fuel prices etc…) may intervene. In that case, you will be informed later. 

• Local flights UB – Ulgii – UB, 
• 2 nights in the hotel (with breakfast) in Ulaanbaatar downtown,  
• 2 nights in yurt, in Ulgii,  
• Transfers airport/city/airport,  
• Domestic flights UB-Ulangom, Khovd-UB, 
• Russian jeep 4x4 Russe and fuel,  
• Driver and guide,  
• Horse riding fees, packing camels, 
• Park entries and frontier permits in the country-side,  
• Meals during the trip,  
• Tents and mattresses. 

The price does not include: 
• International airfares,  
• Meals in Ulaanbaatar (2-15 Euro/day/pers),  
• Museum tickets in UB and Ulgii (about 2 Euro per pers),  
• Sleeping bags, 
• Excess luggage fees (about 3-4 Eur/kg, according to the company), 
• Personal insurances and repatriation fees (obligatory). 

Itinerary in Mongolia, day by day

Day 1. Arrival in Ulan-Bator (UB) 
Meeting at the airport/railway station and transfer to UB, overnight in hotel.  
Visit of the Mongolian capital, rest and free time.  
Ulan-Bator 
 
Day 2. Flight to Ulaangom 
At the Ulaangom airport meet local guide. Drive to south about 50 km and reach the Blue Lake. Pitch a camp. 
Province of Uvs 

Day 3. Lake Achit Nuur 
Drive a full day towards to west, see the Achit Nuur Lake. On the way, we will drive through the Red Mountain Pass to the Uureg Lake, where you will have a picnic lunch. The lake is home to many kinds of waterfowl which can be viewed from the shore line. The Achit Nuur Lake is one of the largest freshwater lakes in Mongolia. There are stunning sunsets and sunrises and good fishing for grayling, lenok and others. You can enjoy seeing spectacular and beautiful landscapes. 
Province of Uvs 

Days 4-5. Altai Tavan Bogd 
First day we drive about 150 km and pitch a camp just near the Sogoog Lake. Next day, after driving about 140 km, we reach our road end. This is home place of Tuvan people, shamanists. 
Province of Bayan Ulgii 

Day 6. Hike in the Altai Tavan Bogd 
With the support of camels, we will trek for 16 km to the base camp area at the edge of the 20 km long Potanina glacier that runs down from the highest mountains in Mongolia. We will pitch our camp right here. Tavan Bogd means “The Holy Five” referring to the peaks of Huiten (4374 m and the highest), Naran, Ulgii, Burged and Nairamdal. It is a stunning setting with the awe inspiring massif of high snow capped peaks. 
Province of Bayan Ulgii 

Day 7. Altai Snow Capped Peaks 
We will remain in the same camp and make a day hike up the non-technical heights of Malchin Uul, where we are likely to trek up through snow. There is also a smaller hill nearby allowing for excellent and stunning views of the mountains, mainly into Russian Altai, but in the distance also China. 
Province of Bayan Ulgii 

Days 8. Potanina Glacier and back 
Today we trek back from Potanina glacier that runs down from the highest mountains in Mongolia. We have a chance to visit some local nomadic families. We will cross Tsaagan River (White River) and trek to Shiveet Hairhan Mountain, where the Tuva people live. Here we will view the biggest petro glyphs from the period of the Huns (approx 200 B.C.).  
Province of Bayan Ulgii 

Day 9. Lake Tolbo Nuur 
Drive out on the steppe valley towards the Lake Tolbo Nuur. The Tolbo Lake has crystal clear fresh water and good fishing.  
Province of Bayan Ulgii 

Day 10. Drive to Tavan Belchir 
After driving for about 5 hours, we will pitch camp just on the north side of the Tsambagarav Mountain (one of the highest snowcapped mountains in Mongolia, 4208 m).The place is called “Tavan Belchir” (Five Crossings). 
Province of Bayan Ulgii 

Days 11-12. Horse trek, glacier of the Tsambagarav Mountain 
We will ride horses and see the beautifull snowcapped peaks, rocky valleys and crystal clear spring waters. We visit nomadic Kazakh and Urianhai (one of western Mongolian ethnic groups) families and feel their grand hospitalities. From north west side of the Tsambagarav Uul we have the chance to hike closer to snow caps. On the east of Tsambagarav Uul we will trek by the narrow, beautiful canyon, where the river is good for fishing. Meet the Kazakh eaglehunter with his Golden Eagle. 
Province of Bayan Ulgii 

Day 13. Drive to Khovd  
Drive to South and reach the city of Khovd. Pitch camp near the River Buyant. The Khovd city was a commercial center located on the northern Silk Road with connections to Russia and China. In 1763 the Manchu administration built the fortress Sangiin Kherem, an area of about 4 ha, fenced with 3 m high and 2 m wide walls. Khovd is a multi-ethnic region inhabited with 18 Mongolian ethnic groups. 
Province of Khovd 

Day 14. Khovd 
Drive to Khovd. Visits, rest. Pitch camp near the River Buyant. 
Province of Khovd 

Day 15. Fly from Khovd to Ulan-Bator 
Transfer to the airport and fly to UB approx.3 hrs. Transfer to the hotel. Free time. 
 
Day 16. Ulan-Bator 
Free day. 
 
Day 17. Fly from Mongolia 
Transfer to the airport. End of the trip.

Circuits en Mongolie - Mongolie de l’Ouest, les Monts d’Altai

Mongolie de l'Ouest, les Monts Altai
17 jours / 16 nuits 

• Les hauts lieux de Mongolie :  
Découverte de l'Altaï mongol. Les monts Altaï sont une grande zone montagneuse dans l'Est de l'Asie centrale, où la Russie, la Chine, la Mongolie et le Kazakhstan se réunissent. 
La nature : les régions d’Ouvs, Bayan Ulgii et Khovd, le plus haut massif de Mongolie, Altaï Tavan Bogd, les lacs Achit Nuur, Khokh Nuur, Sogoog et Tolbo Nuur, le massif au pic enneigé de Tsambagarav. 
La vie sauvage : montagnes de l'Altaï ont encore des animaux rares comme moutons sauvages argali, le léopard des neiges irbis, bouquetins yanggir. 
• Rencontre avec les familles nomades Kazakhs et Tuva, découverte de la culture nomade.

 Yourte, Tente, Hôtel / Guide, anglo-francophone / Bus local, voiture  
 
Nous contacter rapidement et réserver vos billets d'avion rapidement  
Confirmation par le virement d'un acompte.  
 
A noter : les prix ont été calculés à partir des informations en notre possession à la date d’édition. Des modifications (modifications de taux de change, des prix d’essence, des prix de produits etc...) peuvent intervenir. Dans ce cas, vous en serez informés au plus tard lors de votre inscription. 

• 3 nuits à l'hôtel (avec petit déjeuner) à Ulaanbaatar au centre ville,  
• Pension complète pendant le séjour à Bayan Ulgii,  
• Transferts aéroport/ville/aéroport,  
• Les vols locaux UB-Ulangom, Khovd-UB, 
• Le véhicule 4x4 Russe avec l'essence,  
• Le chauffeur et un traducteur parlant anglais,  
• Les entrées des parcs naturels et permis frontaliers,  
• Location de chevaux et chameaux de bât,  
• Les repas pendant le périple, 
• Les tentes. 

• Le vol à destination de la Mongolie,  
• Les repas à Ulaanbaatar (5-10 Euro/repas/pers),  
• Les tickets des musées à UB (env. 2 Euro une entrée),  
• Les sacs de couchage, les matelas,  
• Les excédents kg de bagages sur les vols locaux (3-4 Eur/kg selon la companie), 
• L'assurance personnelle annulation et rapatriement. 

Itinéraire jour par jour, dans l’Ouest de la Mongolie.

Jour 1. Arrivée à Oulan-Bator (UB) 
Accueil à l’aéroport/gare, transfert à UB, nuit à l’hôtel. Visite de la capitale de Mongolie, repos et temps libre.  
Oulan-Bator  
 
Jour 2. Vol à Ulaangom 
Accueil à Ulaangom par votre guide. Trajet vers le sud environ 50 km et arrivée au lac Bleu, Khuh Nuur. Repas et campement aux bords du lac. 
Province d’Ouvs 

Jour 3: Lac Achit Nuur 
Une journée de trajet en voiture, à l’ouest. Nous arrivons au lac Achit Nuur, passant par le col Ulaan Davaa (Rouge) et par le lac Uureg Nuur. Pique-nique à midi aux bords du lac Uureg. Le lac abrite de nombreuses espèces des oiseaux aquatiques qui peuvent être observés à partir de la ligne du rivage. Arrivée le soir au lac Achit Nuur. C’est un des plus grands lacs d'eau douce en Mongolie. Il y a de superbes couchers et levers de soleil sur le lac ; ainsi que l’excellente pêche pour l'ombre, lenok et d'autres. Vous pouvez profiter des paysages spectaculaires de la nature intacte. 
Province d’Ouvs 

Jours 4-5. Altai Tavan Bogd 
Première journée nous allons faire 150 km et arriver au lac Sogoog Nuur où nous monterons notre campement. Le jour suivant après 140 km, nous arriverons aux pieds du Mont Shiveet Khairhan Uul. Cette région solennelle est habitée par des Touvains, chamanistes. 
Province de Bayan Ulgii 

Jour 6. Trek au massif du Altai Tavan Bogd 
Avec les chameaux chargés, nous irons randonner 16 km au bord du glacier Potanina (20 km de long) qui descend des plus hautes montagnes de la Mongolie. Nous allons établir notre campement ici. Tavan Bogd signifie «Les Cinq Saints», en référence aux sommets des Khuiten (4374 m et le plus élevé), Naran, Ulgii, Burged et Nairamdal. Il s'agit d'un cadre magnifique avec le massif impressionnant aux grands pics enneigés. 
Province de Bayan Ulgii 

Jour 7. Sommets de l’Altai 
Nous resterons dans ce même camp et faire une journée de randonnée sur les hauteurs non techniques du mont Malchin Uul, où nous allons probablement trek à travers la neige. Il y a aussi une montagne moyenne à proximité permettant une excellente vue sur les montagnes, principalement sur l'Altaï Russe, mais également sur la Chine, plus loin. 
Province de Bayan Ulgii 

Jours 8. Retour du glacier Potanina 
Aujourd'hui, la marche de retour du glacier Potanina qui descend des plus hautes montagnes de la Mongolie. En arrivée, nous pouvons visiter quelques familles nomades. Nous traverserons la rivière Tsagaan (rivière Blanche) et le trek continue au mont Shiveet Hairhan Uul, où vivent quelques familles Touvaines. Ici, nous allons voir les plus grands pétro glyphes de la période des Huns (environ 200 avant JC). 
Province de Bayan Ulgii 

Jour 9. Lac Tolbo Nuur 
Nous quittons les montagnes et nous dirigeons vers les steppes du lac Tolbo Nuur. Le lac Tolbo est un lac d’eau fraiche et connu pour ses poissons.  
Province de Bayan Ulgii 

Jour 10. Trajet Tolbo - Tavan Belchir 
Environ 5 heures de 4x4, nous arrivons au campement au flan nord de la montagne Tsambagarav Uul (l'une des plus hautes montagnes couronnées de neige en Mongolie, 4208 m), à l'endroit nommé "Tavan Belchir" (Cinq passages).  
Province de Bayan Ulgii 

Jours 11-12. Randonnée à cheval, Mont Tsambagarav Uul 
Randonnée à cheval dans ce milieu des sommets enneigés, de belles vallées rocheuses et des cours d’eaux claires. Nous visitons les familles nomades Kazakhs et Urianhai et découvrir leurs grandes hospitalités. Il sera plus facile d’accéder au glacier du côté nord-ouest de la montagne Tsambagarav Uul et puis nous pouvons marcher dans la neige. Nous allons passer à l'est du mont Tsambagarav Uul par un canyon étroit superbe d’une rivière. Une famille Kazakh où nous allons rencontrer l’aiglier-chasseur avec son aigle royal. 
Province de Bayan Ulgii 

Jour 13. Trajet Tsambagarav - Khovd 
Nous continuons vers le sud pour rejoindre la ville de Khovd. Campement aux bords de la rivière Buyant. La ville de Khovd était un centre de commerce autrefois, située sur la Route de la Soie du nord avec des liaisons vers la Russie et la Chine. En 1763, l'administration mandchoue construit la forteresse Sangiin Kherem, d’une superficie d'environ 4 ha, clôturé avec des murs de 3 m de haut et 2 m de largeur. La province de Khovd est une région pluriethnique habitée par 18 groupes ethniques mongols. 
Province de Khovd 

Jour 14. Khovd 
Nous allons à la ville de Khovd. Visites, repos. Campement aux bords de la rivière Buyant.  
Province of Khovd 

Jour 15. Vol Khovd - Oulan-Bator 
Transfert à l’aéroport; vol à UB environ 3 h. Arrivée à UB, transfert à l’hôtel. 
 
Jour 16. Oulan-Bator 
Journée libre à Oulan-Bator. Nuit à l’hôtel. 
 
Jour 17. Départ international 
Transfert à l’aéroport. Vol international.